Michigan’s recreational marijuana law passed late 2018. When voters passed Proposal 1, Michigan became the first Midwestern state to legalize recreational marijuana. But not everything goes into effect right away. Here are five things you need to know before using marijuana in the state of Michigan.
You can smoke weed, but you can’t buy it
It is legal for anyone over 21 years old to grow, consume, and possess marijuana. But think twice before purchasing or selling it on the street.
In other words, if you already have marijuana in your possession, you’re free to consume it. But only those with medical marijuana cards can buy more.
The same goes for growing. If you already have plants in your house, they are legal to grow and harvest for your own use. But buying marijuana plants or selling it is still illegal. Even i f you grow it yourself.
And how much can you have? Under the new law, you can carry up to 2.5 ounces as long as you’re not at a school or on federal property. In your own home, you can store up to 10 ounces and grow up to 12 plants.
If you have a medical marijuana card and can legally purchase marijuana products, there is nothing stopping you from giving marijuana away as a present. But again, giving or receiving payment for marijuana in any form is illegal. So if you want to give away extra greenery gift for the holiday season, you can’t collect payment.
Marijuana is prohibited in public spaces just like alcohol. Also, landlords, leaseholders, and business owners can prohibit marijuana on their premises. They cannot stop you from possessing marijuana or consuming non-smokeless marijuana products.
College Campuses also have polices against marijuana use. Don’t assume you can possess or consume marijuana in your dorm room. Many universities have drug-free policies that will remain in place despite any change in state law.
You cannot bring it back to Michigan when purchased out of state. Marijuana is still prohibited under federal law. Doing so is considered drug trafficking.
Michigan’s recreational marijuana industry hit a new milestone. It recently exceeded medical marijuana in weekly sales for the first time ever. The state continues to award licenses to marijuana retailers who can sell marijuana to anyone over the age of 21. However, not all counties allow retail shops so make sure to find a location near you.
We also sell tools and accessories for processors and extractors, for more information visit our website at dmliftinc.com
When a law passes it cannot be overturned without 3/4 majority vote. Both the state House and Senate must approve the vote to make any changes. But that doesn’t mean some legislators aren’t trying.
However, driving while high is not allowed in any state. Michigan State law does not allow you to drive if you have a detectable level of marijuana. This means compounds produced from chemical changes of marijuana in the body above a specific, state-imposed threshold.
For more information on marijuana laws in Michigan check out. NORMAL.
For information about DMLift Inc and our tools and accessories please visit our web store.
For information regarding wholesale inquiry check out https://dmliftinc.com/pages/wholesale-inquiry
Comments will be approved before showing up.
This website contains adult material and is only suitable for those 18 years or older. Click Enter only if you are at least 18 years of age.or Exit